Bird is the word

27 03 2013

DSCF4177

I had been inspired and motivate into Nature and Birds from my neighbor Melissa! Melissa is huge into birds and takes awesome photos of them! See for your self at her facebook page!  https://www.facebook.com/mydigitalmindphotography

This passed Saturday I had the chance to go with Melissa on a Nature hike at Binghamton University Nature Preserve! It was a great time despite the cold snowy weather and icy trails! Saw a few birds and heard many birds singing. The Canadian Gesse were the only ones i could get good shots of from my camera!  Its a pretty nice relaxful atmosphere out there in the woods! Its also a good workout hiking out there too! I need to get out there more often!

 

Heres what we saw & heard out there!

This is what we saw:
Canada Geese, Mallard Ducks, Black-capped Chickadee (singing too), Red-winged Blackbirds (singing), Song Sparrows (singing), Fox Sparrows (the one we tried very hard to get good looks of because they are only around for a couple of weeks), Turkey Vultures flying, American Crows, American Robins, Northern Cardinals

This is what we heard only:
Tufted Titmouse, Pileated Woodpecker, Blue Jay

 

Im just getting started into this new hobby! There is so many birds to learn about! I always loved the big guys like the Eagles & Hawks as a matter of fact you can watch a live wed cam of the Red-Tailed Hawks from Cornell College here http://cams.allaboutbirds.org/channel/16/Red-tailed_Hawks/  My favorite small bird is the Baltimore Oriole! I cant wait till they come around and get some good shots of them! They come around here in mid Spring i believe in May! 

My mom has a nice birdfeeder setup she had for years but i never payed any attention or cared for it but that has now changed thanks to Melissa! I gonna start paying more attention to wildlife down at the creek!

Heres a few shots i took at BU Saturday

DSCF4160

DSCF4163

There are Mallard Ducks

DSCF4176

These are Canada Geese

DSCF4173

My favorite shot! A Canada Geese in flight

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 03 2013
Melissa Penta

Dave, this really is truly amazing. One of the reasons why I share my photography is to show people what they are missing, with the small hope that I would inspire someone else to also enjoy birds. I only recently started myself after moving in town. I must say that birding has changed my life – you REALLY begin to appreciate everything about them. Songs that I once ignored are now the music that I listen to (seriously, I have a mic set up so I can listen to them in my yard) and what’s even better is being able to KNOW who is singing. I’m very happy for you and I hope you enjoy your new hobby as much as I do!!

27 03 2013
davehitt29

Thanks 🙂

27 03 2013
Deb

Very pretty pictures, Dave. Now, I need to go and find some birds and take pics, too. Wish you come with me.

27 03 2013
Dave Hitt

Thanks! We need to plan something 🙂

Leave a Reply

